The sun has set

On the 29th of November I received a call from my sister in South Africa to tell me that my father had passed away. My dad and I were very close and his sudden passing is still something that I find very difficult to come to terms with. This picture is one of the last that he took while visiting my sister on a farm in South Africa. I think it is appropriate, symbolising the sunset in his life.

My dad was a wonderful artist (you can see some of his work here on my blog, with more to come) and someone who always saw beauty in everyday life. But it didn’t stop there. He was someone who would always see the best in other people, those that he loved but also those who did wrong towards him.

My dad wasn’t perfect. Like all of us, he made mistakes and sometimes made wrong decisions.What always stood out for me though, was how quick he was to admit his mistakes and apologise. He has taught me so much over the years and in spite of hardships, gave me the best childhood that I could ever have hoped for. He will live on forever in my memories, and in his pictures and paintings that I have included on my blog. I miss him dearly!

Pa sml

14 comments on “The sun has set”

  1. So sorry for your loss! May the wonderful memories of him fill your days!

  2. So sorry for your loss.

  3. Baie jammer om dit te verneem. Woorde is baie beperk, maar wil net se: Sterkte!

  4. I have been “offline” since early October so I have only just read this post. You have written a beautiful tribute to your father, your love for him shines out from the words. I hope you have had some quiet time to grieve for him and find peace.

    • Thanks Lynne. A few days before he died my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer as well so it has been a difficult time. But we have received so much support from friends and family. I’m sure 2014 will have its challenges but we are staying positive. πŸ™‚

  5. Sorry to read about the loss of your father. You are in my thoughts x

  6. Innigste simpatie op die heengaan van jou vader. Jy het darem baie herinneringe om te troos. Baie sterkte met jou vrou se siekte. Of dan die behandeling en genesing daarvan. Ek bid vir julle vir sterkte en genade. Goedgaan.

    • Dankie Olga, ek waardeer dit opreg. Soos jy seker agter gekom het was die kamera tweede prioriteit die laaste ruk. Dinge gaan egter goed, my vrou se behandeling is nou omtent halfpad en sy byt vas en druk deur. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

