One crab… two crabs… HUNDREDS!!

By: RCM

Jan 17 2013

Tags:

Category: Wildlife

4 Comments

This is the Furry-clawed Crab, one of literally hundreds that I saw today. I went for a walk in the Coombabah Lake Nature Reserve not far from where I live on the Gold Coast. A large area is muddy mangrove swamps where these colourful crabs thrive. At first I only saw one crab as it scurried into a hole in the mud, but after sitting very still for about 7 or 8 minutes all the crabs started coming out of their holes, hundreds of them! I snapped a few pictures and as I got up to leave they all disappeared again within about a second, scurrying back into their hiding places. As you can see, the colours on these little creatures are simply amazing.
 

4 comments on “One crab… two crabs… HUNDREDS!!”

  1. It just shows to go ya that when they think the cat is gone, they'll all come out to play. Good for you on being still long enough to see the magic.

  2. That's right Ginnie. I must admit my patience was tested as it was in the middle of the day, 32 degrees with high humidity in a swamp. I wouldn't have lasted much longer. 🙂

  3. he is in his element crabbe, beautiful photo!


Leave a Reply

